2012 Recipient | Past Recipients

On May 10, 1973, John W. McGrain, Claims Manager of The Ohio Casualty Insurance Group's Baltimore Office, passed away very suddenly. That same year, a memorial award was established by the Baltimore Claim Men's Association in recognition of his long and devoted service to the organization.

Following World War II, John McGrain entered the claim business with the Maryland Casualty Company. At this time he joined the Baltimore Claim Men's Association. In 1949 he joined The Ohio Casualty Group where he remained employed until his death in 1973. In addition to serving as President of the Baltimore Claim Men's Association in 1962, John served on may committees and was chiefly responsible for introducing the program of the Insurance Institute of America to the Association. For many years he sponsored the program within our organization and encouraged participation in it by organizing and arranging class instruction. Despite serious illness in 1968, John worked continually for our organization with strong emphasis on developing the professional elements of the adjuster's career.

2012 Recipient - Mike Daney

Mike began his legal career in 1989 following graduation from the University of Kentucky. He first started as a solo practitioner/contract attorney in Kentucky and transferred his practice to Pennsylvania and then eventually Maryland. He moved to the Baltimore area following his marriage to his wife Amy. Mike eventually transferred his practice to Lord & Whip and became a partner. In 2008, Mike and some of his partners established a new firm Godwin, Erlandson, MacLaughlin, Vernon & Daney, LLC, where Mike continues to practice in the areas of Workers’ Compensation and Liability Defense.

Mike received an AV rating from Martindale-Hubbell. Mike also lectures frequently on Workers’ Compensation and Liability topics and lectures undergraduate students at the University of Maryland in College Park. He also presented seminars with other attorneys on issues such as Evidence and Litigation Skills. Mike started attending the BCA meetings in 1994. Mike has been involved with the BCA by serving on the Committee to rewrite the By-laws and update the Corporate Articles with the State of Maryland. Mike has served on the Judicial Committee and provides monthly reports on recent cases addressing liability and insurance issues. Mike is also very active in his community and founded the Community Association and was eventually appointed to the local Community Council where he served as chair for several years.

“The Baltimore Claims Association has been very helpful to me as a young attorney. BCA provided educational programs on various topics that helped me develop as an insurance defense practitioner. I encourage all young attorneys and adjusters to join BCA, attend the meetings and take advantage of the opportunity for personal and professional development and leadership opportunities. Of all the professional groups I have been involved with over the years, I have found the Baltimore Claims Association to be the most beneficial for professional and personal development. I am honored to receive the John McGrain Memorial Award for 2012, and I look forward to continuing to give back to the claims community.”

back to top

Past Recipients

1973 Andrew Tignaelli
1974 Charles Mount
1975 Arthur Carr Jr.
1976 John Gandy
1977 Clayton Hagen
1978 Edward Doyle
1979 Honor all Past Presidents
1980 Robert Hughes
1981 John Young
1982 Ruth Brown
1984 John J. O'Donnell
1985 Honor all Past Presidents
1986 Oscar Robinson
Hank Arnold
1987 John Walker
1988 W. Karl Prodoehl
1989 Lynn Lehto
1990 Honor all AIC & CPCU Recipients
1991 Brenda Kemp
1992 Jim Quigley
1993 Norman Kaylor
1994 Lew Ruth
1995 Bob Murphy
1996 William Dale
1997 John O'Hara
1998 Laura Otremba
1999 Lynne Levin
2000 Shirlbee Ackwood
2001 Michael Schaffer
2002 Liz Brown-Hughes
2003 Denise Kohlhepp
2004 Anita Kirby
2005 Linda Greene
2006 Michael S. Levin
2007 Lisa Faast
2008 Nicole Topper
2009 Linda Obringer
2010 Alan Dark
2011 Alyson Bishop

back to top

Read our By-Laws